Aberdeen based orchestras of fiddles and accordions that practice, perform and preserve traditional Scottish music.

Annual Report and Financial Statements for the Year ended 28 February 2010

Annual report 2010

ICAEW Charities Online Financial Reporting Award Winner 2011

Our online annual report and financial statements is available in two formats: (a) this html version which contains exactly the same words and numbers as (b) the PDF print version. This html version has some additional functionality in terms of hyperlinks, interactive charts and help tipsinfo symbol. You need javascript enabled in your browser to take advantage of these features, hover the mouse cursor over the i symbol.

We haven't changed any text for the html version so the page references will only be correct if you use the PDF print version. However, we have converted the page numbers to hyperlinks so that you can navigate to the correct place.

Please note the independent examiners report that is reproduced in the html version relates to the review of the PDF print version of the accounts. The examiner has not performed a separate review of the html accounts.

The committee present their report for the year ended 28 February 2010.

The members of the committee during the year were:

Office bearers

  resigned 25 May 2009: appointed 25 May 2009:
President Graeme Henderson Graeme Henderson
Vice President Karen Gill Karen Gill
Secretary Karen Gill Karen Gill
Assistant Secretary vacant position vacant position
Treasurer Ross Fowler Ross Fowler
Conductor Graham Reid Graham Reid
Deputy conductor Gordon Pirie Gordon Pirie
Assistant conductor Sheila Reid Sheila Reid
Pianist Neil MacNeil Neil MacNeil
Leader Kim Beveridge Kim Beveridge

Other committee members

No change: resigned 25 May 2009: appointed 25 May 2009:
David Jones Donald Alexander K Falconer
Laura McCracken Emma MacPherson Emma MacPherson
Brian Priestley Karen Steed Karen Steed

The committee is responsible for managing the affairs of the Society and is elected from the Society’s Life/Ordinary members at the Annual General Meeting. The office bearers are elected annually. The six other committee members are elected to serve for a period of two years, with three elected annually. The committee has the power to fill office bearer vacancies arising during the year.

The induction process for committee members includes providing them with a copy of the latest full annual report and financial statements, the Constitution & Rules, and “Guidance for Charity Trustees” published by the Office of the Scottish Charity Regulator (OSCR).

The committee have regular formal meetings throughout the year and may also have ad-hoc meetings on rehearsal evenings as required.

The Society is an unincorporated association, governed by its Constitution & Rules, and is recognised as a charity by OSCR (Scottish Charity number SC011924) in accordance with the provisions of The Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005.

Correspondence should be addressed to 129 Jesmond Avenue, Aberdeen, AB22 8UE or email secretary@aberdeenstrathspey.org.uk.

Support Us

JustTextGiving by Vodafron Logo

Donate by texting: REEL01 £1
to 70070

Your can also donate £2 / £3 / £4 / £5 / £10 by changing the amount in the text.

The text is free to send, the only cost to you is the donation and we receive 100%. Please ask the bill payers permission. UK taxpayers can add gift aid by following instructions in the thank you text.

Our Scottish Music CDs

Live at the Music Hall CD Cover Image
From Dee to Don CD Cover Artwork
Tuned to the North CD Cover Artwork

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer